top of page

DISCOVER

SOME MUST-SEE PLACES
Near Bagnols-sur-Cèze

Roman Nîmes

As the capital of the Gard region, Nîmes has a lot to offer. You won't want to miss its Roman arena, one of the best preserved in the world! On the same square stands the Musée de la Romanité. Recently opened, this is the museum to visit if you want to find out more about Nîmes' ancient past. 

The iconic Maison Carrée is another of the city's must-sees. Finally, don't miss the Jardin de la Fontaine and its Tour Magne, a haven of peace right in the heart of the city.

The Nîmes Tourist Office offers a wide range of themed guided tours all year round to discover the capital of the Gard region from every angle. 

For more details, see the article:  visiter Nîmes en un week-end.

Uzès, the pearl of Gard

After crossing the sublime Gardon gorges that separate Nîmes from Uzès, you'll arrive in the heart of the town nicknamed "Little Tuscany". Heritage lovers will know it for its ducal castle, while those with a sweet tooth will love its Haribo Candy Museum. 

Our favourite thing to do is to walk down into the Eure valley, the perfect place for a picnic or a cool break. You can also simply wander around the historic centre and stop off at one of the many art shops. Uzès is clearly a great place to stroll around!

https://letempsdunweekend.com/2022/06/13/que-faire-dans-le-gard-nos-10-incontournables/

A little extra: the farmers' market on Wednesday mornings is the perfect place to stock up on local produce.

The Pont du Gard, Roman jewel

When you choose the Gard as your holiday destination, the first image that springs to mind is its famous bridge, and it's easy to see why! Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, it is a veritable jewel of Roman architecture.

And did you know that the Pont du Gard is actually part of an aqueduct over 50 kilometres long? In Roman times, it was used to link its source in Uzès to the Castellum of Nîmes, in order to supply the city's fountains and baths with water.

https://letempsdunweekend.com/2022/06/13/que-faire-dans-le-gard-nos-10-incontournables/

If you want to visit the Pont du Gard, there's no entrance fee! 

The little extra: in summer, guided tours are organised every day to visit the pipes on the 3rd floor of the bridge! You'll be overlooking the Gardon at a height of 48 metres. You won't be disappointed.

The most beautiful villages of France in the Gard

Lussan, Montclus, La Roque-sur-Cèze and Aiguèze - these villages are not far from each other, and they all have one thing in common: they've been designated the most beautiful villages in France. They're perfect for a short road trip in the north of the Gard.

Lussan, a hilltop village with a covered way, invites you to take a stroll. Just a few minutes' drive from the village, you absolutely must visit the Concluses de Lussan. A magnificent natural site of gorges carved out by the river Aiguillon, offering a lunar landscape. A 1 km walk accessible to all takes you to the gateway to the Concluses.

On the banks of the River Cèze, let Montclus surprise you. The village has transported us back in time with its medieval streets and peaceful atmosphere.

Goudargues, the Venice of the Gard. If you're looking for a charming village to explore, add Goudargues to your list. You won't be able to resist the typical charm of this place.

La-Roque-sur-Cèze is certainly one of the most picturesque. Perched on a hill, the village offers stunning views over the surrounding countryside. The streets are lined with traditional stone houses, and there are several churches and other historic buildings to explore.

Barjac is known for its picturesque setting and historic monuments. Visitors can explore its winding streets, visit its many churches and museums, and enjoy views of the surrounding countryside.

Aiguèze, with its panoramic views over the Ardèche gorges, is well worth a visit during a weekend in the Gard.

Natural sites

The Cascades du Sautadet at La Roque-sur-Cèze feature a series of waterfalls and rapids.

An emblematic natural site in the Provence Occitane region, the Cascades du Sautadet are an exceptional geological site formed by the river Cèze.

After the waterfalls, there's a beach where you can swim and enjoy the coolness of the river.

The Grotte de la Salamandre. Welcome to the Kingdom of the Crystal Giants. Discover this fairytale cave decorated with titanic concretions set off by colour and sound: activities and excitement for all.

The little extra: the Plage du Roy next to the Grotte de la Salamandre is the perfect place to cool off out of sight.

The gorges du Gardon. They are not as famous as those of the Verdon, but just as beautiful and, above all, just as well-preserved. The Gorges du Gardon have been awarded the "Biosphere Reserve" label by UNESCO.

A little extra: discover them by canoe or kayak, with the highlight of the trip being the passage under the Pont du Gard.

 

And more...

The Ardèche: its gorges, its Pont d'Arc, its caves....

. The Ardèche Gorges Nature Reserve

. Canoeing down the Gorges de l'Ardèche (the Plage de Sauze at Saint-Martin-d'Ardèche is 30 km from Bagnols sur Cèze)

. The UNESCO-labelled Chauvet-Pont d'Arc cave and its replica, the Caverne du Pont d'Arc.

Aigues-Mortes and the Camargue Gardoise. Between the medieval town and the bright pink salt marshes.

The Côte du Rhône wine route in the Gard and Vaucluse.

Playful and welcoming, the Espace Rabelais in Bagnols sur Cèze invites you to enjoy a sensory experience: discovering the world of wine in the Gard rhodanien.

The winegrowers offer wine tastings, cellar tours and a wide range of wine tourism activities.

Châteauneuf-du-Pape, the most famous AOC (Controlled Designation of Origin) in the area, is just 28 km away.

Chateauneuf Pope

Avignon. A city of art, it was the capital of Christendom in the 14th century and has inherited an extraordinary heritage: chapels, churches, ramparts and, of course, the Palais des Papes and the Pont St Bénézet, now a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Its theatre festival, created by Jean Vilar, makes it the world's leading summer venue for live theatre. Given its rich history, heritage and intense cultural life throughout the year, in 2000 Avignon was elected European City of Culture on the Rhône coast in the Gard and Vaucluse regions.

(35 km from Bagnols sur Cèze)

bottom of page

top of page

DECOUVRIR

QUELQUES lieux INCONTOURNABLES
A PROXIMITE de Bagnols-sur-Cèze

Nîmes la romaine

Capitale du Gard, Nîmes a beaucoup à offrir. Vous ne pourrez pas passer à côté de ses arènes romaines, parmi les mieux conservées au monde ! Sur la même place se dresse le Musée de la Romanité. Inauguré récemment, c’est le musée à visiter si vous voulez en connaître davantage sur le passé antique de Nîmes. 

L’iconique Maison Carrée fait également partie des incontournables de la ville. Enfin, ne manquez pas le Jardin de la Fontaine et sa Tour Magne, un véritable havre de paix en plein cœur de la cité.

L’Office de Tourisme de la Ville de Nîmes propose un large choix de visites guidées thématiques toute l’année pour découvrir la capitale du Gard sous toutes ses coutures. 

Pour plus de détails, rendez-vous sur l'article : visiter Nîmes en un week-end.

Uzès la perle du Gard

Après avoir traversé les sublimes gorges du Gardon qui séparent Nîmes d’Uzès, vous arriverez au cœur de celle que l’on surnomme la petite Toscane. Les amoureux de patrimoine la connaîtront pour son château ducal alors que les plus gourmands pour son Musée du Bonbon Haribo. 

Nous ce que l’on préfère c’est descendre en contrebas dans la vallée de l’Eure, l’endroit parfait pour un pique-nique ou une pause fraîcheur. Vous pouvez aussi simplement vous balader dans le centre historique et faire une halte dans les nombreuses boutiques d’art. Uzès est clairement une ville où il fait bon flâner !

https://letempsdunweekend.com/2022/06/13/que-faire-dans-le-gard-nos-10-incontournables/

Le petit plus : le marché des producteurs le mercredi matin est parfait pour faire le plein de bons produits du terroir

Le Pont du Gard, joyau romain

Souvent, lorsque l’on choisit le Gard pour les vacances, la première image qui nous vient en tête est son célèbre Pont, et on comprend pourquoi ! Classé au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO, il est un véritable bijou de l’architecture romaine.

D’ailleurs saviez-vous qu’en réalité le Pont du Gard fait partie d’un aqueduc de plus de 50 kilomètres de long ? Il était utilisé au temps des romains pour relier sa source à Uzès, au Castellum de Nîmes afin d’alimenter les fontaines et bains de la ville en eau.

https://letempsdunweekend.com/2022/06/13/que-faire-dans-le-gard-nos-10-incontournables/

Si vous souhaitez visiter le Pont du Gard pas de frais d’entrée ! 

Le petit plus : l’été, des visites guidées sont organisées tous les jours pour visiter les canalisations, au 3ème étage du pont ! Vous surplomberez alors Le Gardon, à 48 mètres de hauteur. Vous ne serez pas déçus. 

Les plus beaux villages de France dans le Gard

Lussan, Montclus, La Roque-sur-Cèze et Aiguèze, ces villages ne sont pas très loin les uns des autres et ont un point commun : ils sont labellisés plus beaux villages de France. Ils se prêtent parfaitement à un petit road trip dans le nord du Gard. 

Lussan, village perché avec un chemin de ronde, vous invite à la balade. A quelques minutes en voiture du village, vous ne devez absolument pas manquer les Concluses de Lussan. Un magnifique site naturel de gorges creusées par la rivière l’Aiguillon qui offre un paysage lunaire. Une marche accessible à tous sur 1 km permet de rejoindre le portail des Concluses.

Au bord de la rivière la Cèze, laissez-vous surprendre par Montclus. Le village nous a transporté dans le temps avec ses ruelles médiévales et son ambiance paisible.

Goudargues, la Venise Gardoise. Si vous êtes à la recherche d’un charmant village à explorer, ajoutez Goudargues à votre liste. Vous ne pourrez pas résister au charme typique de ce lieu.

La-Roque-sur-Cèze est certainement l’un des plus pittoresques. Perché sur une colline, le village offre une vue imprenable sur la campagne environnante. Les rues sont bordées de maisons traditionnelles en pierre, et il y a plusieurs églises et autres bâtiments historiques à explorer

Barjac est connu pour son cadre pittoresque et ses monuments historiques. Les visiteurs peuvent explorer ses rues sinueuses, visiter ses nombreuses églises et musées, et profiter de ses vues sur la campagne environnante.

Aiguèze et son point de vue panoramique sur les gorges de l’Ardèche est à visiter lors d’un week-end dans le Gard.

Les sites naturels

Les Cascades du Sautadet à La Roque-sur-Cèze proposent une série de chutes et de rapides.

Site naturel emblématique de la Destination Provence Occitane, les Cascades du Sautadet sont un site géologique exceptionnel formées par la Cèze.

Après les cascades, se trouve une plage ou vous pourrez vous baigner et profiter de la fraîcheur de la rivière.

La Grotte de la Salamandre. Bienvenue au Royaume des Géants de Cristal. Découvrez cette cavité féerique ornée de concrétions titanesques mises en couleurs et en sons : activités et émotions pour tous.

Le petit plus : la plage du Roy à côté de la grotte de la Salamandre est l’endroit parfait pour se rafraîchir à l’abri des regards.

Les gorges du Gardon. Celles qui ont donné leur nom au département du Gard… Elles ne sont pas aussi célèbres que celles du Verdon, mais pourtant tout aussi belles et surtout préservées. Les gorges du Gardon ont d’ailleurs obtenu la labellisation « Réserve de Biosphère » délivrée par l’UNESCO.

Le petit plus : les découvrir en canoë kayak avec comme point fort de la balade le passage sous le Pont du Gard

 

Et encore...

L'Ardèche : ses gorges, son Pont d'Arc, ses grottes....

. La Réserve naturelle des Gorges de l’Ardèche

. La descente des Gorges de l'Ardèche en canoë (la Plage de Sauze à Saint-Martin-d'Ardèche est à 30 km de Bagnols sur Cèze)

. La grotte Chauvet-Pont d’Arc labellisée UNESCO et sa réplique la Caverne du Pont d’Arc.

Aigues-Mortes et la Camargue Gardoise. Entre cité médiévale et marais salants aux teintes roses vives.

.

La Route des vins du Côte du Rhône dans le Gard et le Vaucluse.

Ludique et chaleureux, l'Espace Rabelais de Bagnols sur Cèze vous accueille et vous invite à une expérience sensorielle : la découverte du monde viticole en Gard rhodanien.

Les vignerons vous proposent des dégustations de vin, des visites de cave et de nombreuses activités liées à l’œnotourisme.

L'incontournable Châteauneuf-du-Pape, la plus fameuse AOC du secteur, se situe à seulement 28 km.

ChateauNeufDuPape
Mas du Soleil localisation_edited.png

Avignon. Cité d'art, elle fut au XIVème siècle Capitale de la Chrétienté et a hérité de l'époque un patrimoine hors du commun : chapelles, églises, remparts et bien entendu le Palais des Papes et le pont St Bénézet qui sont aujourd'hui classés au Patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. Son festival de théâtre, créé par Jean Vilar en fait, en été, le rendez-vous mondial du théâtre vivant. Compte tenu de la richesse de son histoire, de son patrimoine et de sa vie culturelle intense toute l'année, Avignon a été élue en l'an 2000 Ville européenne de la culture du Côte du Rhône dans le Gard et le Vaucluse.

(à 35 km de Bagnols sur Cèze)

bottom of page